Fantastic Bake Along – Whole grain bread

Last week I came across post  on Tracy’s blog It’s a T-Sweets Day about their monthly bake along. This month recipe was whole grain bread and since I love baking bread, I signed up for it.

The recipe uses 2 1/2 cups of flour, which is about 350g according to my calculation (i always weight the ingredients). I have recalculated the recipe for 500g of flour. Also I had to made some adjustments, since the recipe asks for wheat bran and gems, but I could not find them in my local supermarket. At home I do have strong whole wheat bread flour, so i replaced part of the white flour with it. And I did not increased the amount of dry yeast, 2 1/2 teaspoons on 500g of flours seemed more than enough.

I mixed the ingredients in my stand mixer for about 10 minutes

And finished of the kneeding for another 5 minutes by hand.

I usually bake my bread either free-form on a baking stone or in cast iron pot, so I decided to use my trusted pot instead of the loaf pan. I rolled the dough into a ball and left it proof in a banneton basket.

After about an hour the bread was ready for the oven. I increased the baking time to 42 minutes. First 35 with the lid on, and another 7 minutes without the lid.

I have made the mistake of putting the bread on the lower part of the oven and not in the middle, so the bottom of my bread is quite dark, just on the edge of me considering it burnt, but luckily it did not affect the taste 😊

It turned out to be a very yummy bread. I’m used to bake sourdough bread, so the sweet honey taste is a nice change to my usual recipe.

I will definitelly make it again some other time….

 

5 thoughts on “Fantastic Bake Along – Whole grain bread

Leave a Reply

