Yet another FO…. πŸ˜Š

So many FO in one month, Im on a roll πŸ˜€

If you’ve read my previous posts, you might have already realized, that I’m mostly full of ideas and WIPs but hardly any FO…. However lately I’ve been giving myself serious deadlines and sometimes I even manage to stick to it.

Like now, for example. I was busy with a minion hat for a friend. He is travelling tomorrow back home and he wanted to surprise his nephew. So I did my best and today I’ve handed him the finished hat.

_20170525_211857

For most parts I used Scheepjes acrylic yarn. Those kinds of hats are always fun to make.

Also yesterday was my goddaughter’s birthday and I promised her a cake, so I spent most of my day baking one. Same as last year, whatever could go wrong with the cake, did go wrong. I think cakes for her are cursed…. First, I had to re-bake the cake itself, as the first time it was too dense and it didn’t rise well. Then I had a serious problem getting a good consistency for the frosting. I usually make german buttercream, which involves whipping butter, sugar and pudding together. Normally I have no problem with the cream but this time, I don’t know what went wrong; whether it was too much liquid from strawberries in pudding or different butter i used, or the hot weather, but the cream kept looking like it’s curdled…. Every time I seemed to fix it, and it look good in mixing bowl, but as soon as i started to spread it on cake it looked horrible…. In the end I had to mix some gelatine sheets to stabilise it….

received_10155417275910820Well to make long story short, it took me whole evening and today’s morning to finish the cake, lots of swearing and cursing involved, but the result was good …

It was not great, for my standards, but people seemed to like it (i have to be honest, it looked better than it tasted)….

Well hopefully next time it will go better…. I have another cake to bake on tuesday πŸ€”

4 thoughts on “Yet another FO…. πŸ˜Š

  1. It is a fabulous looking cake, what a shame it caused so much stress! I love the minion hat, although the thought of putting anything on my head today is just too much. I’m melting

    Like

    1. Thanks, somehow baking cakes are always bit stressful for me, as I improvise most of the time, but this time it was exceptionally annoying πŸ˜€ it’s been really warm here as well, but my friend only goes home couple of times a year, so i had to finish the hat quickly. And it’s meant for cold and windy scottish winters, so hope it will serve it’s purpose well

      Like

  2. Lucia!! That cake!! Oh my goodness! I mean the hat is awesome too, but that cake! I love to bake–and used to do a lot more of it before my husband changes his diet . . . now I still bake, but it’s all gluten free etc. So interesting to make the switch. Right now, all I want is a slice πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. thank you! the cake did look good, pity it tasted only good, not great… tomorrow i’m going to bake another one… tripple chocolate cake… im hoping for more luck with that one, but I’ll post pictures regardless of the result 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

