Sometimes it sucks to be a perfectionist – AKA the most frustrating project of 2016/2017 πŸ˜‘

Last december I bought a beautiful yarn to make a shawl for my mother in law. Well she spotted the yarn in shop and I offered to get it for her and make her the shawl.

received_10155300071805820

It was suppose to be a Christmas present, but one thing led to another and I didn’t finish it on time. I’ve been “working” on it on and off since then, but next week, we are going to UK to visit her, so I decided to finish it and give it to her when we are there.

The problem is, i do not like how the shawl looks on top, and also the form of it. I wanted to make something quite wide but not too long ( triangle shaped).

received_10155300071750820

_20170420_114740

As always I’m not following any pattern, just freestyle as I go…. And the last 2 days I spent obsessing about a way to fix the top and the shape, so it looks how I imagined it…. Easier said than done.

Im bit of a perfectionist when it comes to knitting and crocheting, and Im not easily satisfied with my results 😐. I showed the scarf to my friend, and she couldn’t really see what i was complaining about…..

Well last night I got so frustrated that I almost took it all apart, and started the shawl from scratch. But as with most mohair yarns, taking things apart takes longer, than the actual knitting (oh man, how I hate working with mohair), so this morning, I decided to continue with what I have…

Wish me luck, I will need it…..

2 thoughts on “Sometimes it sucks to be a perfectionist – AKA the most frustrating project of 2016/2017 πŸ˜‘

  1. im hoping the blocking will fix some of my problem, but i would like the scarf to be a slight V shape on top. once i stopped obsessing, I was able to come up with a way to hopefully make it right… Just crochet couple of rows on top, and use only single stitch in the middle part to level it up….. sometimes the solution can be so simple

    Like

Leave a Reply

